BBC National Orchestra of Wales

BBC National Orchestra of Wales

Plus Discover More Pre-show event

Archebwch nawr

BBC NOW return to Venue Cymru this November for another wonderful afternoon of classical music, joined by conductor Clemens Schuldt and violinist and BBC New Generation Artist Aleksey Semenenko.


  • Johannes Brahms | Violin Concerto in D major
  • Antonín Dvořák | Symphony No 9 in E minor, 'From the New World'

Discover more: Dvorak and sounds of Bohemia

Dvorak's final symphony has many moments of nostalgia for his homeland, and one of the most poignant comes in the Cor Anglais solo that opens the slow movement. We'll be asking the orchestra's soloist, Sarah-Jayne Porsmoguer, what it's like to play that celebrated tune, as well as explore other Bohemian touches that surface in Dvorak's writing, whether intentional or not. Join BBC NOW’s Discovery Guide Dr Jonathan James, from 2pm in the Orme Suite